Academic English Courses

Our Academic English course will help prepare you for life at university.

This is a practical course, suitable for all academic specialities, whether you want to study business, science, humanities or any other subject. This part-time programme focuses on the academic skills needed to study in the UK.

 

APPLY NOW

The Academic English course is designed to help both postgraduate and undergraduate students. It focuses on transferrable academic skills that are relevant to all areas of study.

You will practise critical reading and evaluation of a range of academic texts, building and supporting arguments, referencing ideas, listening to lectures and note-taking. You will also have a variety of academic writing tasks.

 

Academic English 7.5

This is a 7.5 hour per week course which runs Monday to Friday from 1.15pm - 2.45pm. This course runs all year round, subject to fixed course start dates

  • Course length, between 1 and 11 weeks = £80 per week
  • Course length, 12 weeks or more = £70 per week 

 

Academic English 7.5  plus General English 15

This is a 22.5 hour per week course which combines the 7.5 hour Academic English course described above with a General English 15 hour course.

  • Course length, between 1 and 11 weeks = £180 per week
  • Course length, 12 weeks or more = £170 per week

 

Start dates in 2017 are listed below;

  • Monday 9th January
  • Monday 6th February
  • Monday 6th March
  • Monday 3rd April
  • Monday 1st May
  • Monday 29th May
  • Monday 3rd July
  • Monday 31st July
  • Monday 28th August
  • Monday 25th September
  • Monday 23rd October
  • Monday 20th November

 

 

 

 

The conversation hour is a great way to improve your English.  The facilities are good too.
-

Accreditations
Glasgow School of English is recognised by UKVI as a Tier 4 sponsor to bring students into the UK on Tier 4 General Student Visas under licence number 18EC8KTJ.